Yamaha Wins the 2007 World Superbike Manufacturers Championship

Yamaha Wins the 2007 World Superbike Manufacturers Championship

Yamaha has won the 2007 WSB Manufacturers Championship with a 28-point margin following today's season finale at Magny-Cours.

Both Yamaha Motor Italia riders put in 100% effort today to give the manufacturer the title with Noriyuki Haga taking the double win and Troy Corser coming home in third and fourth. Both races were nail-biting events with Haga and Corser making good use of team work to gain maximum points.

Nobody could have asked for more from Haga as he led both races from start to finish, claiming his second double win of the season; the first being at Monza. Corser also put in a sterling performance during the day, battling with Neukirchner and Bayliss in race one and Biaggi and Nieto in race two, to take third and fourth.

Haga's double win was bittersweet as the rider ended the day just two points off the championship title. This is the third time Noriyuki has finished second in the championship. Corser's results today means he finishes the 2007 season in fifth place and today saw him take the record for the highest number of WSB race starts ever with 276 - one ahead of Pierfrancesco Chili.

After 16 pole positions, 177 podiums and 44 race wins Yamaha has claimed the Manufacturers Title for the first time.

Shinichi Nakatomi finishes 2007 in 15th place following an 11th place finish in race one and a DNF in race two.

Noriyuki Haga (1st and 1st - Yamaha Motor Italia WSB Team)
"In race one I couldn't see what was happening behind but my pit board was telling me so I built up as much gap as possible to try and stay out of the battles going on. My heart was definitely beating faster though! For race two I didn't change anything on the bike and I just tried my best.

I'm disappointed with second in the championship, who wouldn't be with a gap of just two points! But I'm happy. I've enjoyed fighting with all the riders in the championship this year. The last few races have been really good, from a results point of view; I'll just have to try harder next year. It's been good working with Troy this year, we get on well and I'm looking forward to developing the bike further with him next year. I'd like to thank the team for all their efforts and congratulations to James on winning the championship."

Troy Corser (3rd and 4th - Yamaha Motor Italia WSB Team)
"I got a great start in race one; my aim had been to get in front and just go for the win but Nori was very determined to get in front of me! I wasn't going to risk crashing and taking us both out in order to get back past him. I rode as hard as I could but my front tyre went off during the race so I was unable to hold Bayliss off and he got past. In race two I got off the line well again and I just did my best to hold everyone up!

Overall I'm happy; I set out what I achieved to do today and I'm pleased to have played a part in giving Yamaha the Manufacturers Title."

Massimo Meregalli (Team Coordinator, Yamaha Motor Italia WSB Team)
"Today has been a great day! We did everything that was possible to win and Troy did an excellent job for the team. I'd like to thank both Nori and Troy for their team work and efforts throughout the season. In addition I'd like to thank everyone in the team; they have played an important part in our championship fight.

Next year we'll be ready from the first race. We won six races this year and got 18 podiums and this is the best result the team's ever had. Honestly, to finish second with a gap of two points leaves us a bit disappointed. Nori has had a fantastic season and in our opinion he didn't lose…"

Laurens Klein Koerkamp (General Manager, Racing Division, Yamaha Motor Europe)
"To get the manufacturer title is excellent - it shows the strength of the bike and the total team effort including both riders. It's been an unbelievable challenge but the team never gave up and closed the gap. We were so close to the rider title. Of course, at the end of the season you can have many 'what ifs' but that's racing and we've shown the 'spirit of challenge' attitude and passion for racing that runs through the team and Yamaha. The R1 was a new bike this year and we've shown what it can do. Next year we'll go for the rider title as well, nothing less."

Shinichi Nakatomi (11th and DNF - Team Yamaha YZF)
"For race one, we changed some settings and I had the best feeling for the bike of the weekend. During the last five laps I had trouble with the front tyre, though, so it was difficult to control. In race two I gained two positions before I lost the front and crashed."

Martial Garcia (Team Manager, Team Yamaha YZF)
"In race one Tomi had a good race and got an excellent 11th place finish after fighting with Rolfo - only 30 seconds behind the winner. We were also in the top ten team standings. Tomi got an average start in race two but gained two positions. Unfortunately he crashed and was unable to re-start.

Overall, I'm happy because we've shown the bike is very competitive with Yamaha's racing kit parts. I'd like to thank the team for their professionalism. We'll be back next year with an even stronger team."

Race 1 - 23 Laps 
1 Noriyuki Haga Yamaha JPN 38'33.762
2 Troy Bayliss Ducati AUS 0'2.770
3 Troy Corser Yamaha AUS 0'3.735
4 Max Neukirchner Suzuki GER 0'8.570
5 Fonsi Nieto Kawasaki ESP 0'12.925
6 Max Biaggi Suzuki ITA 0'13.283
7 James Toseland Honda GBR 0'16.395
8 Ruben Xaus Ducati ESP 0'22.581
9 Regis Laconi Kawasaki FRA 0'22.828
10 Roberto Rolfo Honda ITA 0'32.729
11 Shinichi Nakatomi Yamaha JPN 0'38.305
12 Karl Muggeridge Honda AUS 0'53.685
13 Yoann Tiberio Honda FRA 0'53.799
14 Michel Fabrizio Honda ITA 0'53.915
15 Guillaume Dietrich Suzuki FRA 0'56.474

Race 2 - 23 Laps
1 Noriyuki Haga Yamaha JPN 38'35.353
2 Max Biaggi Suzuki ITA 0'3.518
3 Fonsi Nieto Kawasaki ESP 0'9.142
4 Troy Corser Yamaha AUS 0'9.257
5 Troy Bayliss Ducati AUS 0'12.825
6 James Toseland Honda GBR 0'19.316
7 Roberto Rolfo Honda ITA 0'20.994
8 Regis Laconi Kawasaki FRA 0'22.452
9 Michel Fabrizio Honda ITA 0'22.505
10 Ruben Xaus Ducati ESP 0'28.352
11 Karl Muggeridge Honda AUS 0'44.333
12 Yoann Tiberio Honda FRA 0'48.077
13 Guillaume Dietrich Suzuki FRA 1'23.307
14 Luca Morelli Ducati ITA 1'23.826
15 Dean Ellison Ducati GBR 1'37.631

Best Lap
Max Neukirchner Suzuki GER 1'39.844

Rider Standings
1. James Toseland Honda GBR 415
2. Noriyuki Haga Yamaha JPN 413
3. Max Biaggi Suzuki ITA 397
4. Troy Bayliss Ducati AUS 372
5. Troy Corser Yamaha AUS 296
6. Ruben Xaus Ducati ESP 201
7. Lorenzo Lanzi Ducati ITA 192
8. Roberto Rolfo Honda ITA 192
9. Max Neukirchner Suzuki GER 149
10. Regis Laconi Kawasaki FRA 137
11. Michel Fabrizio Honda ITA 132
12. Fonsi Nieto Kawasaki ESP 125
13. Yukio Kagayama Suzuki JPN 116
14. Jakub Smrz Ducati CZE 66
15. Shinichi Nakatomi Yamaha JPN 66

Manufacturer Standings
1. Yamaha 467
2. Ducati 439
3. Honda 439
4. Suzuki 419
5. Kawasaki 192
6. MV Agusta 1

comments powered by Disqus

Altri commenti

Non sei registrato?
Registrati, è gratis!


Articoli più letti

Articoli precedenti su MotoCorse.com

<b>Misano, 10 Aprile ProDay only con Motocorse!</b>

Misano, 10 Aprile ProDay only con Motocorse!
in Giornate pista e corsi di guida

<b>Offerta Adria 12 nov 07- 150 E con assicuraz maltempo</b>

Offerta Adria 12 nov 07- 150 E con assicuraz maltempo
in Giornate pista e corsi di guida